WhatsApp are, this month (November 2020) introducing a new feature that will allow users to delete messages after seven days.

Users will have the option to switch on the feature, which when enabled, will mean that messages shared in a group or individually will disappear after seven days. So what does these mean for users?

· In a one-to-one conversation, either user can switch the ‘disappearing messages’ feature on or off. In a group chat, only the admin of the group can turn the setting on and off
· The message will disappear if a user doesn’t open the App within a week. There is a chance that the message preview will be viewable until the App is opened. Likewise, if a user replies to a disappearing message, the quoted text might remain in the chat after the set seven days
· If you receive a ‘disappearing message’ and have the setting turned off, the message will not dissipate

In announcing the new feature, WhatsApp were keen to express that users should only this this new feature with individuals they trust. Users should remember that other users can capture a ‘screenshot’ or forward a ‘disappearing message’ before it expires. Likewise, they can copy the message before it disappears.

For additional updates and more digital marketing advice, please register with Striver